The Michael Marks Awards celebrates the poetry pamphlet as a format which supports poets published in the UK to develop and to continue creating. Established in 2009, the annual awards include prizes for Poetry Pamphlet, Publisher, Illustration and Poetry in a Celtic Language.


2020 Winners


The 2020 Awards were held on Monday 14th December 2020, in our first online-only event, which you can still watch online

You can find information here about the 2020 Awards Shortlists and judges

We were delighted to announce the winners as follows:

Poetry Award

Paul Muldoon  Binge  (The Lifeboat)


Publisher Award

Illustration Award

Jamie McKendrick for The Years, by Jamie McKendrick (Arc Publications)

Award for Poetry in a Celtic Language

Rhys Iorwerth   Carthen Denau  (Cyhoeddiadau’r Stamp)



Previous winners


Poetry Award

2020: Paul Muldoon, Binge (The Lifeboat)
2019: Rowan Evans, The Last Verses of Beccán (Guillemot Press)
2018: Carol Rumens, Bezdelki (Emma Press)
2017: Charlotte Wetton, I Refuse to Turn into a Hatstand (Calder Valley Poetry)
2016: Richard Scott, Wound (The Rialto)
2015: Gill McEvoy, The First Telling (HappenStance)
2014: Laura Scott, What I Saw (The Rialto)
2013: David Clarke, Gaud (Flarestack Poets)
2012: Róisín Tierney, Dream Endings (Rack Press)
2011: James McGonigal, Cloud Pibroch (Mariscat)
2010: Selima Hill, Advice on Wearing Animal Prints (Flarestack Poets)
2009: Elizabeth Burns, The Shortest Days: elegies im DGB and PGH (Galdragon Press)


Publisher Award

2020: Broken sleep Books
2019: Verve Poetry Press
2018: Guillemot Press
2017: Smith Doorstop (The Poetry Business)
2016: The Emma Press
2015: Mariscat
2014: Rack
2013: Flarestack Poets
2012: Smith Doorstop (The Poetry Business)
2011: Crater
2010: Happenstance
2009: Oystercatcher


Illustration Award

2020: Jamie McKendrick, The Years (Jamie McKendrick) Arc Publications
2018: Chris Routledge, Carousel (Chris Routledge and Rebecca Goss) Guillemot Press
2018: PR, Zi-Zi Taah Taah Taah: The Song of the Willow Tit (Steve Ely) Wild West Press.
2017: Rose Ferraby, The Tender Map (Melanie Challenger) Guillemot Press.
2016: Mairead Dunne, The Clearing (Luke Thompson), Atlantic Press.
2015: Mat Osmond, Deadman and Hare 1: Fly Sings, Strandline Books.


Poetry in a Celtic Language Award

2020: Rhys Iorwerth, Carthen Denau (Cyhoeddiadau’r Stamp)
2019: Morgan Owen, moroedd/dŵr (Cyhoeddiadau’r Stamp)



Follow us on Social Media