Watch again: the Awards Event 2022



The event begins with brief interviews with a previous winner, shortlisted poet and publisher, and judge, who were unable to attend any in-person event for the 2020 and 2021 Awards, which were solely online. Interviews conducted by the Awards Administrator, Lindsey Holland


Gboyega Odubanjo (Poetry Award winner 2021)
Holly Singlehurst (Shortlisted poet 2021)
William Wootton (Poetry and Publisher’s Awards judge selected by The TLS, 2020)
Dr Niall Munro (Ignition Press, Publisher’s Award winner 2021)


Introduction to the Michael Marks Awards 2022

by Marina, Lady Marks


The Michael Marks Publisher’s Award

Introduced by Lindsey Holland, Administrator of the Michael Marks Awards

Presentations from the shortlisted publishers:

Bad Betty Press
Guillemot Press
Hazel Press
Muscaliet Press


The Michael Marks Publisher’s Award, Announcement of the Winner

Announced by judge Natasha Bershadsky (Harvard Center for Hellenic Studies)


The Michael Marks Illustration Award

Announcement of the Winner. Introduced and announced by the Illustration Award judge, Martin Royalton-Kisch


Environmental Poet of the Year: Reading and Pamphlet Launch

Introduced by Lindsey Holland

Naturalist and judge Mark Avery, on the concept and importance of the prize

Introduction to the winner: Michael McGregor, Director of Wordsworth Grasmere

Linda France, Environmental Poet of the Year. A reading from her winner’s pamphlet, Letters to Katłįà 


The Michael Marks Poetry Award

Introduced by Lindsey Holland

Readings from the shortlisted poets:

Maya C Popa
Naush Sabah
Shane McCrae
Tomi Adegbayibi
John Burnside
Matthew Haigh


The Michael Marks Poetry Award, Announcement of the Winner

Announced by judge John Glenday


Closing Remarks

Ian Cooke, Head of Contemporary British Publications, the British Library


Follow us on Social Media